Birthday Cupcakes!

In September, the Little Rocker turned 4! She had been looking forward to it for months and had been describing to me the exact cake that she wanted.  She wanted colorful icing with balloons.  Being as I forgot to take a picture of the actual cake that I made for the party, I will be talking about the cupcakes that I made for the Shabbat that was the actual date of her birthday.

Presents!
Presents!

We were going to J and M’s place for dinner on Friday night, so I volunteered to bring dessert.  I decided to do cupcakes as Rocker Dude has been asking me to make iced vanilla cupcakes for ages.  I had made yellow cake cupcakes a while ago but I was not impressed with the consistency of the cake, so I was wary of making them again.  I did not want them to come out dry.  So this time I decided to try Angel Food Cupcakes.  They would be light as a feather (hopefully) and be super tasty.

The Little Rocker enjoys Israeli Dunkin Donuts.  Special treats for her birthday.
The Little Rocker enjoys Israeli Dunkin Donuts. Special treats for her birthday.

The Little Rocker wanted colorful icing, so after getting advice from M (a different one) who is a master at icing cakes, I made three different colors of icing to make swirl icing.

The recipe makes a ton of cupcakes, so I cut the recipe down to a third so that I ended up with only a dozen cupcakes, still more than enough.

Angel Food Cupcakes.
Angel Food Cupcakes.

Recipe (from How Sweet It Is):

12 large egg whites (1 1/2 cups)
1 1/2 teaspoons cream of tarter
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups sifted powdered sugar (sift before measuring)
1 1/8 cups sifted cake flour (sift before measuring)
1/4 teaspoon salt

Let egg whites sit at room temperature for about one hour before beginning. While eggs are resting, measure out powdered sugar and flour, then sift powdered sugar, flour and salt together. Set aside. Line a cupcake tin (or two) with cupcake liners.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Using an electric mixer, beat egg whites until frothy. Once frothy, add in cream of tarter, then beat at medium speed until soft peaks form. This took me about 5-6 minutes. Gradually add granulated sugar with the mixer still on medium speed, continuing to beat until egg whites thicken a bit more with opaque, soft, droopy peaks. Once there, beat in vanilla extract.

Remove the bowl from the mixer and sprinkle 1/4 of the dry ingredients over the egg whites. Fold gently with a spatula until combined completely. Continue with the rest of the dry ingredients – I did this in three increments.

Once batter is smooth, use a 1/4 cup measure to pour heaping scoops of batter into each liner. Bake for 18-19 minutes, or until tops are golden brown. Let cool completely, then frost as desired.

Icing:

250 grams margarine (about two sticks)
400 grams powdered sugar
1/4 tsp. vanilla extract
A little bit of water
Food coloring

Beat the margarine until fluffy.  Add the sugar.  Beat until smooth.  Add the vanilla.  Add water by the teaspoonful until the icing is smooth. Add a few drops of the coloring of your choice.  Mix well.

Leave a Reply

