Tuesdays with Dorie: Coffee-Break Muffins

So as not to pull another last minute TWD baking, I decided to make these muffins on Thursday night.  Conveniently, our friends A. and E. came back from the US on Wednesday so they were able to join us and watch Empire Records together.  That is a classic movie that deserves to be watched every few months so that you always remember how to rock out.  I love the song at the end when Renee Zellweger sings “Sugarhigh”!  It’s probably my favorite part.  So while watching we had some of these muffins and fruit – you know, so that we wouldn’t starve before the Yom Kippur fast that started Friday night (I swear, what is it with Jews and food, either you’re eating too much or you’re not eating at all!!).

Batter - mixed up by hand!

The Little Rocker saw me pulling them out of the oven as she was about to go to bed, so I had to promise her that she could have one in the morning.  I know that I shouldn’t give her caffeine, but I have to be honest, I don’t feel a difference when I have coffee in food, and I don’t notice a difference in her either.

Filling the muffin cups.

Either way, this week’s recipe was hosted by Rhiani of Chocoholic Anonymous.  She chose these muffins, actually a recipe that I skipped over a few times because it didn’t seem my style, not sweet enough I think.  But for Tuesdays with Dorie – I will try anything.  These muffins mixed up in about five minutes (in between bathing the Little Rocker and getting her into pjs) and baked really quickly.  When we tried them, there were mixed reviews.  Everyone said that they tasted good, though Rocker Dude did say that they were a bit bitter.  Rocker Dude’s comment was that it was missing something sweet.  I told him that they didn’t have soymilk which is what I normally bake with, which adds a lot of richness to the end product.  So he said that next time I should add the soymilk, after all, who likes coffee without milk?

Coffee-Break Muffins

For the recipe, check out Rhiani’s blog here and see what other TWD bakers did here.

2 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Coffee-Break Muffins”

  1. I’ve been seeing quite a few comments about a bitter taste – maybe some milk added to the mix would smooth it out a bit. I’m glad these got some good reviews at your house, even if they weren’t a unanimous hit.

Leave a Reply

