Tuesdays with Dorie: Crunchy and Custardy Nectarine Tart

This week’s recipe was hosted by Rachel of sweet tarte.  She chose the crunchy and custardy peach tart.  I have actually made this recipe a couple of times already, each time a bit differently.  The first time I made it with canned peaches because it was the middle of  the winter and there were no fresh peaches to be had.  The second time I made them, I forgot to specify to dear Rocker Dude when he bought the fresh peaches that I would need them the same day, so they were really hard.  I have to say that I liked the tart better with the canned peaches than with the underripe fresh ones.  This time, we are at the height of peach season, so I was going to do this right, well, sort of.

Pitted nectarines. Not the neatest job in the world.

I used nectarines so that I wouldn’t have to peel them before putting them into the tart.

Tart crust ready to be baked.

I also decided to slice up the nectarines completely and make a spiral pattern in the tart instead of partially cutting them and spreading the nectarine half.  I did this with the canned peaches (because they came sliced) and it came out looking really nice.  I used an extra nectarine half because I made a ten-inch tart instead of a 9 inch one.

Nectarine filling

The recipe is really east to make.  The topping takes about 1 1/2 minutes to mix up, then get your tart crust going add filling (which requires no pre-cooking by the way) and bake the whole thing!

We just came back from America on Wednesday, so it has taken the Little Rocker a while to get back to the right time zone, giving us a few hard nights.  Friday morning, when I made this tart, I was only about half-functioning.  And the Little Rocker and I walked out to the farmer’s market in the 108 degree heat – we got the greatest pickles ever!  (And some fresh mangos and grapes too.)  So when we came back I was pretty wiped and all I could think about was if I had enough freezer space I would have tart crusts already frozen and then I wouldn’t have to procrastinate baking.  Haven’t we all had those days?  Granted, I procrastinated by finding cool things to bake, but it is procrastination nonetheless.

Crunchy and Custardy Nectarine Tart

We brought this tart to our friend S.’s house for lunch on Saturday and it was well received, though Rocker Dude did say that he did not like the tartness of the nectarines with the creaminess of the custard filling.  Oh well, can’t please everyone.

Close up. Looks delish!

Check out the recipe on Rachel’s blog here and see what other TWD bakers did here.

P.S. Can you tell that I am still recovering?  This post was all over the place!

4 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Crunchy and Custardy Nectarine Tart”

  1. I think the nectarines look great just as you’ve arranged them. That spoke thing didn’t seem clear to me. This is a fab tart – you have lucky friends that they got to try it.

Leave a Reply

