Tuesdays With Dorie: Lots of Ways Banana Cake

I had mixed opinions about this cake.  Rocker Dude asked why it had to be banana, and couldn’t I do another flavor.  I told him that it was called “Lots of Ways Banana cake” – not “Any flavor cake you can make lots of ways.”  He used to like banana cake more, like when I first started making it for the Little Rocker, but I guess it has overstayed its welcome.  But he is very supportive of everything I make (cause he knows what’s good for him) and he supports me baking along with everyone because it gets me to try new things – so Banana Cake, here we come!

Look at that nice, thick batter.

A few weeks ago I had bought bananas expecting to eat them, but somehow, while my back was turned, they ripened and were all of a sudden to ripe to eat plain.  Luckily I knew that this recipe was coming up so I peeled them and put them in the freezer.

You can still see the bits of banana in the batter.

I hoped to make these in time for our weekly Star Trek date with A. and E. on Wednesday night.  Of course, I didn’t start making the cake until after the Little Rocker went to sleep, but as the cake was only supposed to bake for about 40 minutes I hoped it would be done already.  I should have known better.  Things always take longer in my oven. I also made the cake in a loaf pan so that it would be like banana bread, so that also made it take longer.  Basically it ended up being done baking just as we were finishing our last episode of the night.  I quickly brushed the syrup on it and we all had a piece, hot from the oven.

You can totally tell that this picture was staged - I am a righty, how would I properly brush the syrup on with my left hand?

Although it was so hot that each piece fell apart, it added so much to the flavor.  Rocker Dude even said that it tasted like the perfect breakfast food, almost like french toast.  He should know better than to underestimate the awesomeness of my baking.

Banana loaf cake, I know it looks a bit brown around the edges but it is so moist and not burnt at all - I highly recommend this cake to everyone!

Sorry this post is so short, but I have been really busy at work (when I usually write these things up) training my replacement.  Rocker Dude, the Little Rocker and I are all flying next week to New Jersey for my brother D.’s wedding!  We will be there for about three weeks, and apparently my office can’t survive without me (when they realize how much they need me I should get a raise!)

I also have another recipe to  post – Ginger Cookies – and that will have to wait until I have  a few free minutes too.  When Rocker Dude went shopping this week he bought blueberry pie filling – hint hint – I then responded that he forgot to get the cheese so how was I supposed to make cheesecake?

This week’s recipe was hosted by Kimberly of Only Creative Opportunities so visit her blog to get the recipe and see what other TWD bakers did here.

3 thoughts on “Tuesdays With Dorie: Lots of Ways Banana Cake”

Leave a Reply

