Tuesdays with Dorie: Brrrrr-ownies!

York peppermint patties and brownies, what could go wrong?  This week’s recipe was chosen by Karen of Welcome to Our Crazy Blessed Life.  She picked these delicious brownies and I couldn’t wait to try them.  One problem, where does one get York Peppermint Patties in Israel?  While most Hershey’s products are imported (and sold at exorbitant prices) these are not.  Wait, doesn’t Rocker Dude’s dad have a secret stash of York’s that magically gets refilled when people come in from the states?  (He also keeps his in the freezer.  There must be something about secret stashes and freezers – they just go well together.)

Yor Peppermint Patties

So these brownies are courtesy of Rocker Dude’s dad S.  After he reads this, Rocker Dude will be stopping by with a special shipment for him and R. his mom (but don’t tell 😉 ).

I was running late with this week’s recipe.  Usually I try to make it the week before it is due, but we were at Rocker Dude’s parents for the weekend because his nephews came in from Boston, so I did not have a chance to make these.  I even intended to make them on Sunday night, but somehow, the night got away from me and I didn’t end up going to be until 12 and still didn’t accomplish anything – oy!  So I made a conscious decision to make these brownies as soon as I came home from work on Monday.  One of Rocker Dude’s really close army friends was coming over anyway, so then we could share the calories!  Of course, the Little Rocker had a different plan in mind and did not let me leave her for a minute.  So this had to wait until she went to sleep.

We recently took the side of her crib off because she had been climbing over it to get out anyway.  And she has a history of dislocating her elbow (my family genes, can’t blame the hubby) so we didn’t want to take a chance.  Her crib is right next to a bed, so now she can stretch out over both and she can climb out of bed on her own without diving over the top of the crib rail (of course this leads to little visitors with fuzzy hair at 3 o’clock in the morning climbing into my bed, but at least she comes prepared – she brings her blankie, her stuffed monkey and her water before she climbs in – how cute!)

You can see how her crib is pressed up against the regular bed which is in turn against the wall. Oh yeah, and that's Momo, her best monkey friend.

Anyhoo, basically this means that if she does not have her eyes closed when we leave the room, she will be up knocking at her door to get out five minutes later.  Last night she decided that she really wanted me to stay with her and wouldn’t let me move, so I laid down next to her (another advantage of no crib rail) and fell asleep with her (wouldn’t you?).  Rocker Dude came in twenty minutes later to wake me up.  Okay, now we are ready to bake.

Mixing in the flour to the chocolate mixture.

This recipe was so easy and I love that it was a one-pot job.  Those are always the best recipes.  Melt chocolate and margarine – check.  Mix in the other stuff – check.  Chop up peppermint patties and mix in – check.  Bake —- done!  How much harder could it be.

All the components

As this was obviously a dairy recipe (there is a pareve version of York’s but according to S. (who is a connoisseur) they are not worth trying) I baked this in my toaster oven.  It took a bit longer to cook, but still came out wonderfully.

I was too impatient to wait for them to cool and I hat a piece while it was still burning hot.  It made for a nice contrast with the mintiness.  I will try them again when I get home (they were in the refrigerator all night) to get the total frozen minty experience.

The main ingredient

Everyone should make these – they are sooo good.

Brrrrr-ownies

Check out the recipe on Karen’s site here and see what other TWD baker’s did here.

3 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Brrrrr-ownies!”

  1. It seems like just yesterday that my kids were that little…one is 27 and the other is 33. 🙂

    Great looking brownies!

Leave a Reply

