Tuesdays with Dorie: Dressy Chocolate Loafcake

A loaf cake, how exciting!  And with layers too!  And no buttercream to worry about separating in the heat – the best!  This week’s recipe was hosted by Amy of AmyRuthBakes and she chose a very unique chocolate cake.  I’m not usually a chocolate cake fan, but I knew that others would also appreciate it.

I also made this as a celebration cake.  Rocker Dude’s mom, R., just underwent surgery to remove a herniated disc in her spine.  Thank God, the surgery was a success and she can sit and walk and everything again without the pain that has been bothering her for a year now.  We can’t wait ’till you are back to normal Mom!  So we all went over to Rocker Dude’s parents’ house for the weekend, and I decided to bring a celebration cake.  This cake is perfect because it doesn’t have creamy layers or require constant refrigeration – it travels really well!  And it bakes really quickly too!

Beginning of the batter.

Thursday night we had a company BBQ, so I only had a few hours after coming home from work before we left to the BBQ.  During this time I had to obviously, spend time with the Little Rocker, get her dinnered, bathed and bedded before the babysitter came.  As I was in the middle of all this, I remembered that I wanted to make this cake and as we were leaving early on Friday to the in-laws, I wouldnt’ have time to bake it then.  So I quickly whipped it up.  Let me tell you, this cake mixes up in about five minutes.  I put it in the oven and let it cook while I took care of the Little Rocker.  It made the house smell so good.  I actually felt bad because the babysitter would come in and expect yummy snacks and I had nothing to give her.  Oh well, next time.

Ready to go in the oven.

I let it cool, and when we got home at about 12:30 am, I wrapped it up for the night.  In the morning I split the layers.  it cut very nicely, though made a lot of crumbs.  I used strawberry jam between the layers after reading people’s comments that without it, the cake was too monotone.  The jam really sank into the cake and made the layers really moist without adding a distinctively strawberry flavor.  It was light and emphasized the chocolate of the cake.  I reassembled the cake and wrapped it tightly in foil for transportation.

Three chocolate cake layers
Smearing the jam onto the cake

When we got to the in-laws’, I made a simple chocolate ganache – equal parts cream and chocolate and poured it over the top of the cake.  It looked delicious.

Chocolate cake and the ganache ready to be poured.

I let that sit in the refrigerator for a couple of hours to let it set and then I sliced it in order to take a picture (The eating that went with it was just because it was already sliced, I mean, if I wasn’t going to eat it then it would dry out probably.  It was my duty to not waste food and make sure it tasted good before serving it to everyone else.)

Dressy Chocolate Loafcake

When Rocker Dude’s dad, S., asked me what I made, I explained what went into all the parts of the cake.  I could tell that when I got to the strawberry jam part he cringed on the inside (he’s waaaay pickier than Rocker Dude even).  But I knew that it would be okay in the end.

When we did finally get to the cake after a great dinner, courtesy of S. and Rocker Dude’s aunt, G., everyone enjoyed their piece.  The plates were cleaned and even G., who is a real health freak, had an extra half of a slice :).  Definitely a success.

The one change I would make would be to try it with a white chocolate ganache instead of a dark chocolate one.  I bet the flavors would go really well together.

For the recipe visit Amy’s blog here, and  see what other TWD bakers did here.

6 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Dressy Chocolate Loafcake”

Leave a Reply

