Tuesdays with Dorie: Cinnamon Swirl Bread

This week’s recipe is hosted by Susan of Food.Baby.  This is a recipe that I was really looking forward to making.  I love making breads (I mean, come on, I make challah every week), and I love eating breads too (it shows).  So I am so glad that Susan picked this recipe to make this week.

I love the combination of raisins and cinnamon, whenever we are in America and we go out for bagels, I always get a cinnamon raisin bagel, toasted, with cream cheese.  I even planned the baking of this bread out well.  I decided to make it Thursday night so that Friday morning (my day off) I would make fresh french toast for the whole family.  It was all planned out.  I sent Rocker Dude food shopping on Thursday afternoon so that we would have the ingredients when I got home from work.

Dough before rising

After I put the Little Rocker to bed, I set about making the dough.  It mixed really nicely and was super soft.  I was very excited.  As the dough rose ( I didn’t have to worry about finding a warm space, it’s about 85 degrees F outside), I set about finding the raisins and margarine and cinnamon.

Look at that rising action!

I looked in the cabinet where we normally keep raisins, but I couldn’t find them.  I looked in the other food cabinet just in case Rocker Dude had misplaced them but there were no raisins.  I asked Rocker Dude where they were.  it went something like this:

Me: Sweetie, where are the raisins that you bought?

RD: You needed those?

Me: Yeah, that’s why I put them on the list.

RD: Oh, sorry baby, I thought they were just for the baby and I had already passed the aisle when I noticed them on the list and I didn’t feel like going back and I figured that the Little Rocker could manage a few days without raisins.

Me: Ummm.

RD: Wait is that why you wrote dark raisins instead of golden raisins?

Me: Uh, yeah.

So there we were, raisin-less at 11:00 at night with no store open and no hope for more raisins before morning.  What to do?  Rocker Dude said that I should put the dough in the refrigerator until morning and bake it then.  That would have been the logical thing to do, but I was impatient and I wanted to be able to make the french toast first thing in the morning so that the Little Rocker could enjoy some for breakfast too.  So I took apart the cabinets looking for something that I could substitute for raisins, but there was nothing.  It was then that I came to my great decision.  I would make Cinnamon Swirl Bread – no raisins.  (At the time this was a big deal, it was a long day).

So I rolled out the dough and smeared the margarine, sprinkled the dough generously with cinnamon and sugar and rolled it up tightly.  I put the dough in the loaf pan and baked it.  The house smelled heavenly.  If you ever want to sell a house, forget the baking cookies, bake bread.

Cinnamon swirl filling

The next morning I sliced up the bread for the french toast and tasted it – ohhhh yuuuuuummmmm.  I gave the Little Rocker a small slice while we were waiting for the french toast to cook and she loved it too.  She also tried to feed it to her stuffed monkey, Momo.  When the french toast was ready, I woke up Rocker Dude (he enjoys being woken up to the smell of fresh breakfast) and we all sat down together.  One word, delicious.

French Toast Fixin's

Afterward Rocker Dude informed me that if I had put in raisins he wouldn’t have liked it as much because he hates raisins in bread.  Is that why he “forgot” them?

Look at that swirl!
French Toast!

Check out the recipe on Susan’s site here, and see what other TWD bakers did here.

4 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Cinnamon Swirl Bread”

  1. I didn’t use raisins on purpose and I loved this bread! Everyone has been making it into french toast and I think I have really missed out. Might have to make myself another loaf.

Leave a Reply

