Blueberry Cheesecake for Shavuoth

Shavuoth is, according to Rocker Dude, the Holiday of Death.  It is the holiday in which Jews celebrate receiving thew Bible.  For a number of reasons, there is a tradition to eat dairy.  Rocker Dude is lactose intolerant, hence, holiday of death.  I love cooking dairy, especially because it happens so rarely.  I am not well equipped to cook and bake dairy, as everything needs to get cooked in a toaster oven.  In Israel, the holiday is only one day (as opposed to two days outside of Israel).  This means that there are only two meals to cook everything I want to make.  And as we like to be with our friends over the holiday, we are eating out at J and M’s for lunch, so that leaves me with one meal.

So here I am trying to make blintz souffle (the ultimate of Jewish dairy foods), quiches, and of course, the most important part – cheesecake! (I am also making a fish dish with no dairy so that Rocker Dude won’t suffer too much – thank God for Lactaid!)  Last year I made three kinds of cheesecake: blueberry, chocolate and tiramisu.  I have to make the blueberry one because it is Rocker Dude’s favorite.  For that he is willing to take as many lactaid pills as are necessary.  It is the easiest recipe in the world, and tastes so good.  Everyone should try it.

It is supposed to have a graham cracker crust, but I can’t get graham crackers here, so I use tea biscuits instead.  Because my food processor is meat, I set Rocker Dude to crushing tea biscuits.  It’s for his benefit after all.

Rocker Dude crushes tea biscuits, and watches TV
Crumbs mixed with melted butter

Then you mix the filling.  It literally requires  mixing the ingredients in a bowl with a spoon.  No food processor, no whipping, no nothing.  I also substitute 5% white cheese instead of regular cream cheese, and it actually works really well.  I have to say that the quality of the dairy goods in Israel is amazingly high.  All types of cheeses are available, most of which I had never heard of in America, or required going to a specialty store to get.

Everything you need, cheese, eggs, flour, lemon juice, and sugar

Back to the cake.  Mix all ingredients and pour over the crust – how easy?  And when it is cold, spread on some blueberry pie filling.  There you have a delicious and easy cheesecake.

Cheesecake Batter

I know that I haven’t been blogging as much as I should, work has been absolutely insane, my inbox is full of red flags.  The craziness should last until May 31st, and then I will be able to get back to my blogging.  I know I missed another Tuesday’s With Dorie recipe, but I have cooking and baking for the holiday, so I hope it’s a good enough excuse.  Hopefully next week.

Blueberry cheesecake
A slice of heaven

Recipe:

180g tea biscuits crushed (for a 9 inch cake) or a prepared graham cracker crust

50g butter or margarine, melted

750g 5% white cheese, or cream cheese

3/4 cup sugar

4 eggs

2 tbsp. flour

1 tsp. lemon juice

1 1/2 cups blueberry pie filling

Preheat oven to 150 degrees celsius.

Mix melted butter with tea biscuit crumbs.  Press into the bottom of a 9 inch springform pan.  Bake the crust for about ten minutes while you prepare the filling.

Mix all the filling ingredients together (except the pie filling) until smooth.  Pour into the pan and bake for 40 minutes, preferably in a water bath, but I don’t have space in the toaster oven for one and they still come out perfectly.  Let cool and then spread pie filling over the top of the cake.  Refrigerate until serving.

5 thoughts on “Blueberry Cheesecake for Shavuoth”

  1. I love cheesecake! I have a sweet kugel in the oven right now, in anticipation of tonight … 🙂

    Hag Sameach!

    foodfloozie.blogspot.com
    twitter.com/foodfloozie

  2. I have never tried baking, but with this I think I’m gonna make one, it seemed so simple to make and the ingredients are just a few to prepare.
    I’ll ask some help from my sister on this craft.

  3. The cheesecake looks fabulous! And Rocker dude as the same expression on his face as Frank does when I ask him to help out. 😉 I love your posts, looking forward to the rest.

Leave a Reply

