Tuesdays with Dorie: Burnt Sugar Ice Cream

This is so exciting, I’m making ice cream.  Or rather, I should say, I made ice cream.  All by myself.  No machines involved.  Mmmmm.  This week’s recipe was chosen by Becky of Project Domestication.  She chose Burnt Sugar Ice Cream, or basically, caramel ice cream.  I have been dreaming about making my own ice cream.  I want to be able to justify getting an ice cream maker.  Also, I think that there aren’t enough flavors of ice cream in Israel and we need more.  I mean, come on, they don’t even have mint chocolate chip and cookie dough (I know all you people are going to tell me that Ben and Jerry’s has both flavors, but they sell them in pint size containers and are very expensive – also, they just don’t taste that good.)

I have been waiting for this week’s recipe ever since I knew that someone picked it.  I was a little worried about the churning, but a friend of mine, Leah of Leahsleavenedbreads made vanilla ice cream by hand a few months ago, using David Lebovitz’s method and it came out wonderfully.  I followed her example and made sure to whisk the custard every 45 minutes without fail.

The cream and milk mixed with the caramel.

After giving the Little Rocker dinner of an avocado and cream cheese sandwich with nectarine slices for dessert (it’s already pretty hot here and she enjoys cool foods more), I set about making the caramel.  The whole process is pretty simple, make a basic caramel (boiling sugar until it turns brown – or I guess- burns), and then adding the milk and cream.  When I added the liquids, the caramel completely seized, but I just kept stirring and as everything warmed up again, the caramel loosened and mixed with everything else.  The only other ingredients were egg yolks (I have plans for those whites) and vanilla.  It is so simple and then I let it cool and began the freezing process.

Egg yolks

Once it was in the freezer, I whisked it every forty-five minutes, as directed.  Slowly I saw the mixture firm up as it cooled.  Unfortunately, at about 11:15 I couldn’t keep my eyes open anymore and I had to go to sleep.  My ice cream was nowhere near “creaming” yet, but what could I do?  So I went to sleep.

The Little Rocker helps out

I happened to wake up at 2:30 in the morning (maybe the ice cream gods were calling me) and I figured that if I was already awake, I might as well check on my ice cream.  It was frozen solid.  I tried a bite – soooo good, but I could taste the frozen structure (if that makes sense – it wasn’t creamy enough).  So when I woke up at 6:00, I took the bowl out the freezer and let it defrost as I got dressed and got the Little Rocker dressed.  After she settled with her eggy toast, I mixed up the now softened ice cream and broke up all the ice crystals and made it nice and creamy and soft.  I then put it into a container and returned it to the freezer to firm up.  Sundaes anyone?

Burnt Sugar Ice Cream

The verdict from Rocker Dude? “Appreciated.”  Oh yeah.

For the full recipe, visit Becky’s site here and see what other TWD bakers did here.

10 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Burnt Sugar Ice Cream”

  1. Yummmmm!!!!! Looks delicious!!! There is nothing more satisfying than making your own ice cream by hand (ok- maybe baking bread 🙂 )
    thanks for the shoutout!

    L

  2. This looks totally awesome.
    I want to eat it all up (that’s what she said…)

    Huge fan!!

  3. Awesome to make it by hand. Makes me want to try it that way even though I have an ice cream maker. I was pleasantly surprised how easy this was with making the caramel and all.

  4. I’m so glad the ice cream worked well for you! I also made it by hand. It was a lot easier than I thought it was going to be. Cute pictures!

Leave a Reply

