Tuesdays With Dorie: Swedish Visiting Cake

This week’s TWD recipe was chosen by Nancy of The Dogs Eat the Crumbs.  This cake is special for me because my husband spent a large part of his childhood in Sweden.  His grandparents are Swedish, so every summer he would stay at their house in the Swedish countryside near Goteborg.  When I showed him the picture in the book, he recognized the cake immediately and said that this cake is served everywhere in Sweden.  When I asked if he liked it, he looked at me and said, “it has almonds on top.”  By which I was to infer that he would never try the cake because of the nuts.  To pacify him I told him that I would make the cake without the slivered almonds on top.

The cake is called a visiting cake because, and this Dorie relates in the introduction to the recipe, if you start the cake when you see guests coming up the walk to visit, it will be done by the time they sit down.  It’s true.  This cake was really simple to make, did not even require a kitchen-aid and it cooked really quickly.  I didn’t even need the whole 25 minutes that the recipe called for.

Everyone loved the cake.  it was dense and moist and as I added almond extract it had a strong almond flavor, almost like marzipan.  We had a number of friends over on Friday night and everyone asked for seconds.  But when I looked at Rocker Dude’s plate, he had only eaten half of his piece.

Out of the whole cake, there were only two small pieces left for Saturday.  Just enough for the Little Rocker and me to each have one.  When she woke up from her nap and I asked her what she wanted to eat for lunch, the first thing she said was “Cake” (it sounded more like “kek”, but hey).  She’s my little girl!

The sugar sprinkled on top gave it a nice crisp crust that only added to the texture -yum!  Definitely going to make this one again.

For the recipe check out Nancy’s site here and see what other TWD bakers did here.

9 thoughts on “Tuesdays With Dorie: Swedish Visiting Cake”

  1. I just had to comment on this one… I’m not liking the fact that Little Rocker wanted cake for lunch… Not sitting well with Auntie Rachie.
    Sounds yummy tho!

  2. Sounds like you can put the almonds on top next time! I’m glad most of you liked the cake. For the record, I’ve eaten it at every meal and as a snack, and it’s pretty wonderful at all times of day. This might be another Passover contender because it doesn’t have a ton of flour either. Thanks for baking along with me this week; I’m glad it brought out good memories of childhood in Sweden.

  3. Your cake looks great without the almonds. I loved it! Made mine with the almonds. The hubby had one piece and then left the rest to me. 🙂

  4. I used coarse decorating sugar on top of my cake, along with the almonds, and I loved the crunch it made. So, your husband doesn’t mind almond flavour, just not almonds themselves? I think, since he didn’t finish his piece of this great cake that you should make another with almonds for you and Little Rocker! More cake mix for him…
    🙂

  5. Your husband’s comment about the cake having almonds on top made me laugh! How cool that he recognized the cake from the picture though! I’m glad you and your little Rocker were able to enjoy the cake with friends! =)

Leave a Reply

