And we’re back!

After a long two week break, we are back and baking up a storm.  Passover is over and we have restocked the kitchen with flour and other baking necessities.  For those who want to see what my house looked like over Passover, see below:

Okay well that might be a bit of an exaggeration, but the house was clean and all the cabinets were closed off, etc.  I actually did manage to do a bit of Passover baking, I made thumbprint cookies.  It occurred to me afterward that I could have made Dorie’s Thumbprints for us Big Guys (see post here) because it was almond based and I could substitute matzo meal for the little flour that it has.  Oh well, next year.

The other cake that I baked was Rocker Dude’s most favorite cake in the whole world.  This is a little embarrassing for me, and it shows how much he does not appreciate what I bake.  His favorite cake ever is the Manishewitz Passover Marble Cake MIX.  A mix!!!  And not just any mix, a Passover mix!!!!  This is what it looks like

Apparently you can get it online on Amazon, who knew?

I have to admit that as cake mixes go, and Passover cakes in general, it is not bad.  It is moist and tastes pretty good.  But it’s a mix!!  Oh the horror!  And this is what he begs for me to make him – ahhhh!  So I made it because I love him, and my parents have already bought him another couple boxes (you can only get it in America, so we always have them on the lookout) so that he shouldn’t be deprived for too long.  Oy.

On Friday, I made my own marble cake,  a cardamom and coffee cake.  It never occurred to me that instead of making a traditional chocolate and vanilla marble cake, I could marble to other flavors.  I was flipping through Dorie Greenspan’s book because I didn’t think that one cake would be enough for both Sabbath meals (Friday night and Saturday) as we were having guests at each meal.  More about the other cake later.

I was looking for something easy and fast as I was short on time, and I stumbled across the basic marble cake in the pound cake section.  One of the variations was a cardamom and coffee marble cake.  I love using cardamom and this sounded really interesting.

The cake was really easy to make, basically mix up the ingredients, then separate the batter into two and mix coffee into one half and cardamom into the other half.  Then marbleize them together.  The cake came out a tad dry, but I think it was meant to be on the drier side.  A pound cake should be eaten warm with butter maybe.  I think next time i will try making a syrup to moisten it a bit.  It went very well with a cup of coffee.  Definitely make it again, though maybe I will try one of the other variations that Dorie included.

Recipe:

2 cups plus 2 tbsp. all purpose flour

1 1/4 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 1/2 sticks of butter (or margarine)

1 cup sugar

4 large eggs

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract1/2 cup whole milk

1 tsp. ground cardamom

2 1/2 tsp. instant coffee dissolved in 1 tbsp. boiling water

Preheat the oven to 325°F.  Butter and flour a loaf pan.

Whisk the flour, baking powder and salt together.  In a mixer, beat the butter until smooth.  Then add the sugar and beat for another 2-3 minutes.  Add the eggs, one at a time, and beat well after each addition.  Beat in the vanilla.  Reduce the mixer speed to low and alternately add the flour mixture in three additions and the milk in two additions.  Mix only until each addition is incorporated.

Divide the batter, add the cardamom to one half and the coffee to the other.  Mix each half well.  Then marble the batters together in the pan.  Bake the cake for 20-30 minutes or until a knife inserted comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

