Tuesdays with Dorie: Dulce de Leche Duos

Dulce de Leche, yum, and already made – yummier.  I was not sure if I was going to make these cookies (remember my diet?  I like to think about it too), and also, I rarely bake dairy a. because my husband is lactose intolerant and b. because all of my equipment is meat or pareve – meaning that it cannot touch milk or dairy products.  But then I said that if I am not going to be participating for the next two weeks because of Passover when we can’t eat flour or anything made with it, I should really do this week’s recipe.  So I sent out Rocker Dude to see if he could find ready-made dulce de leche.  Thankfully, he found it easily and bought a jar.  So on Tuesday night while he was in Jerusalem doing his radio show (rock4rookies.com – I am a good wife), I decided to make the cookies, this way, there would be a nice treat waiting for him when he got home (I AM a good wife!)

So I creamed the margarine by hand (I’m not sure why I used margarine for these cookies when I was making them dairy anyway, but I guess it’s because that’s what was in the house – old habits die hard).  And then added the caramel.  Once I got the eggs in there it was a lot easier to mix.

I baked the cookies in my trusty dusty toaster oven, and because the pan that fits in does not have a flat bottom, the cookies did not come out perfectly round.  But they came out super chewy (yum!) and when they cooled I spread a thin layer of caramel on the bottom of one cookie and topped it with another cookie.

I wasn’t sure if I was going to like these cookies, because I don’t like caramel in large quantities, one bite is enough and then I get sick of the taste.  But in these cookies, the caramel taste is subtle and only adds to the cookie taste.  I had great intentions of bringing these cookies into work so that they would not be lying around the house, but then I realized that after making the sandwiches, that there were only about 18 cookies, not enough to bring to work, so they stayed home.  S. enjoyed them a lot as you can see (she is concentrating on doing her very first puzzle!).

I enjoyed them too, and Rocker Dude gave them the ultimate compliment, “they are so soft.”  Apparently (and this has taken me 4 years to figure out) he likes chewy cookies.  To be honest so do I, but I guess he just never mentioned it before.  Thanks Dorie!

For the recipe check out Jodie’s blog Beansy Loves Cake and check out what other TWD bakers did here.

3 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Dulce de Leche Duos”

  1. Well, you’d never know they were toaster-oven material. They look great – and I agree -super chewy! Glad the little rocker enjoyed them too!

Leave a Reply

