Quick Chocolate Mousse Cake

Work has been a little stressful lately.  We are getting to a rather busy period in the year and it means more work for me and those around me.  It also means working later, so I don’t get to see M. and S. as much as I would like.  This makes every minute spent with them important.  That is why I started baking with S. and trying to include her in what I am doing.

Yesterday, S. started speaking in Hebrew.  It was so exciting.  She started speaking in English a while ago, and she can really make herself understood (more or less – to the trained listener), but yesterday the babysitter told us that she started to speak in Hebrew.  We also knew that she understood Hebrew for a while, because when people spoke to her in Hebrew she responded appropriately.  It is really so amazing to watch her grow up and develop.  She is at an age (17 months) where every day she surprises us.  A couple days ago I turned around and she was standing on a chair, precariously leaning on the table and trying to play with the computer.  Apparently, she learned how to climb up chairs.  I put her down and tucked the chair in, forgetting that there was another chair by the high chair.  Two seconds later, she was up on that chair too.  M. and I looked at each other and realized that now, NOTHING will ever be safe again.  Oh well, it’s a good thing that we don’t have too many valuables – and I don’t think that she can break my Kitchen-Aid.

We were invited out for lunch in Saturday to friends of ours, J. and M.  They asked us to bring dessert as they both know how much I love to bake.  I knew that there would be another couple there and I also knew that J. and M. are chocolate fiends.  I looked through my cookbooks to find something interesting.  I saw this recipe and I knew it was perfect.  It is super chocolatey, delicious and fast (I was making this at 11:30 at night, so fast is good).

Hubby saw me getting everything together and asked what I was making.  When I told him, his eyes lit up – he actually got excited!  Of course this cake is most definitely NOT on my diet, but we were taking it out of the house, so it wouldn’t be too detrimental to my total caloric intake (though even one piece probably has more calories than all the food I ate the rest of the day.

Mousse Cake

Although the cake has a number of components, as you go on, the table gets less and less crowded as all the ingredients are used up.  I am writing this post three days later and I can still taste the chocolate that I licked off the spatula.

I apologize for not having a picture of the final product, but it was gone before I could.  When I make it again, I will post a picture.

Recipe:

500g bittersweet chocolate, chopped

1/2 cup (120 ml) strong coffee

8 eggs, separated

1/2 cup (100g) sugar

1/2 cup (120 ml) heavy cream

Preheat the oven to 170C.

Melt the chocolate and coffe in the microwave or over a double boiler.  Pour 1/2 cup of the chocolate and coffee mixture in a separate dish and set aside.

Beat the egg yolks and 2 Tbsp. of sugar at a high speed, until the mixture is light and fluffy.  Add the rest of the chocolate mixture to the egg yolks and mix well.

In a clean mixing bowl, beat the egg whites at a high speed.  Slowly add the rest of the sugar.  Beat until stiff.  Carefully fold the whites into the chocolate mixture.  Pour 1/3 of the mixture into a greased spring-form pan.  Keep the rest of the mixture in the refrigerator.

Bake for 15 minutes until the cake is light and stable, but still soft to the touch.  Cool.

In a microwave, or over a double boiler, heat the cream with the 1/2 cup reserved chocolate.  Mix well until you get a smooth mixture.  Pour over the cooled cake.  Smooth the surface and place the cake in the freezer until firm – about 30 minutes.

Pour the rest of the mousse over the top of the cake and return to the freezer for another hour, until firm.

To serve: dip a towel in boiling water and wrap it around the pan to help release the cake.  Keep refrigerated until ready to serve.

Leave a Reply

