Chunky Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Last night I was struck by a crazy craving for oatmeal raisin cookies.  I had tried a recipe a few months ago that didn’t turn out well and I was ready to try again.  After the success of the brownies I was ready to see what Dorie had in store for these cookies.  She didn’t have regular oatmeal raisin cookies, but she had peanut butter oatmeal cookies with raisins that could be substituted for the chocolate chips.  Yay!  After the hubbie, M., and I took the baby to the store to go grocery shopping we were well stocked for baking.  M. is presently working on his thesis and needed my input to make sure that it made sense.  I decided to accomplish two things at once, he read his thesis while I made cookies.  I still think that I came out ahead.

In order to ensure the success of this recipe I made sure to take out all the ingredients early enough so that they would be at room temperature when I was ready for them.  This is something that I learned in my travails in the baking world.  For best results – nothing should be cold.  I mixed everything up in my Kitchen-Aid and then scooped the cookies out onto cookies sheets.  I put them in the oven for exactly 13 minutes as was written in the recipe, and eventhough they were very soft, they firmed up as they cooled.  Here you can see them cooling.

Cookies CoolingThere were a few more in this batch, but…  Well, we had to test them to see if they were good, and boy were they!  Of course M.’s first comment was, “It tastes like peanut butter.”  When asked if this was a complaint he said “sort of.”  He then proceeded to tell me that he would prefer just regular oatmeal raisin cookies – oy!

Here is the final stack – we’ll see how long they last, because for all of M.’s complaints there were three cookies missing when I came back into the room.

Stack of CookiesHere is the recipe:

Chunky Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

3 cups old fashioned oats

1 cup flour

1 tsp.  baking soda

2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp.  grated nutmeg (I used the regular powdered kind from the bottle

1/4 tsp. salt

2 sticks unsalted butter at room temperature (I used margarine)

1 cup peanut butter, chunky or smooth (my preference)

1 cup sugar

1 cup natural  (demarara) sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp. vanilla extract

9 oz. dark or light raisins (the original recipe calls for the same amount of chocolate chips, but I wanted raisins)

Preheat the oven to 350°F or 190°C.  Line baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone mats.

Whisk together oats, flour, baking soda, spices and salt.

In a mixer with the paddle attachment, beat butter or margarine, peanut butter and sugars until smooth and creamy.  Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition, then beat in the vanilla.  Slowly add the dry ingredients and mix just until blended.  Then add the raisins (or chocolate).

If you can, chill the dough for a couple of hours or overnight, this allows you to shape the cookies better.  I did not have time, so I immediately put them on the baking sheets.

Drop by teaspoonful onto the lined baking sheets.  If the dough is chilled then you can roll it into a ball and press lightly onto the sheet.  Press until they are about 1/2 inch thick.

Bake for 13 minutes, turning after 8 minutes.  The cookies will be lightly browned and still soft.  Carefully slide finished cookies onto a cooling rack.  They will firm up as they cool.

Try not to eat them all in one sitting!

One thought on “Chunky Peanut Butter and Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies”

Leave a Reply

